Coughing and Sneezing

I’m usually late for things. I didn’t watch Lost until well after it was over, and I STILL haven’t finished the Harry Potter series (I know).

So, with all that in mind, my body decided to wait until March to bless me with a truly not wonderful sinus infection.

It’s day three of coughing and sneezing and even more gross symptoms. I try very hard not to take pills (I will if I need antibiotics or if a symptom gets so bad I can’t work or function, but if I can get through it without them, I’ll get through it.) Day three has been a little kinder to me. I’ve been healing and feeling much better, and here’s why.

I’ve been using Apple Cidar Vinegar and cayenne pepper to my advantage. Mix 1-2 teaspoons of ACV with warm water, as a couple dashes of cayenne, a squeeze of lemon, and either raw honey, 100% maple syrup, or some stevia to take the edge off. It will definitely help to clear out those sinuses!

The other thing I’ve been using is what I call “Spicy Health Soup”. My boyfriend came up with it. It’s pretty simple, really, just use organic chicken or vegetable broth, an entire globe of chopped garlic (a globe is the whole head, cloves are the individual pieces), an entire onion, some chopped carrots, celery, and any kind of spicy pepper you want. We used habanero, but its up to you! Add in healing herbs like rosemary, bring to a boil, boil for about five minutes, lower the heat and let it sit for about thirty minutes so the flavors all come together.

Serve and let the healing begin! It’s good the keep a tissue box nearby, cause both the soup and the drink can and will make your nose run., which is half the point. The other half is that these recipes are chock full of antioxidants and ingredients full of healing power.

Be well!

Leave a Reply

