The Importance of Friendship

This weekend was a blast.

We had our neighbors over, and we made our own pizzas, and we drank some good wine, and we played Clue. It was amazing and I want to do it all the time.

I made a pizza using Udi’s gluten free pizza crust, and while I did not like their frozen pizza, their crust with my own ingredients was a-maz-ing!!!!

I used a ton of toppings – garlic oil, mozzarella, asiago, romano, parmesan, mushrooms, spinach, bacon and and prosciutto, jalapeno, and truffle salt on top. Oh my lord I ate the whole damn thing and did not feel bad one bit.

photo

 

It was just so much fun and Justin and I usually have kind of a hard time making real friends…we both have our own separate besties, but our neighbors here in Wilmington are the first people we both met and just instantly we all became friends. But with friendship comes community: We make large batches of soup and share, they went away for two weeks and gave us their produce, we looked after their dog, they helped us out during the painful car accident, we returned the favor with a little bit of money, and it’s just a legitimate constant back and forth born from a real, true liking of one another.

It’s a new thing for us. We’re not unlikable people or anything (I’m pretty sure…) but it’s always been kind of separate. While I am going through some personal issues that I cannot post here, having close friends that are also literally right next to us is absolutely amazing. It makes me feel like I have a mini family, a mini community, that I can truly trust.

Community is important. It can catch you when nothing else can. It can make you feel important, loved, and appreciated. Reach beyond and grasp what is there – the true kindness and love that other people really do possess, despite the horrible things that happen in the world every day.

No 50 Shades of Me this week. It’s been way too good to dwell on problems of the past.

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Friendship

Leave a Reply

