These are a few of my favorite things

I would like to begin this post by saying a fond yet somber farewell to Leonard Nimoy. Rest in peace, you wonderful man and actor ❤

In this post I will be going over some of my favorite gluten free products so far. Now, I know some of these products probably contain some ingredients I will soon eliminate from my diet, but as I’m just a gluten free beginner, I’m still going through my store-bought options. I hope to make my own out of healthy, organic ingredients, but for now I’m okay with store-bought.

1. Udi’s Gluten Free Bread.

I have only tried the whole grain bread, but I absolutely love it. It tastes bready, but it’s also very light. As a breadophile, I appreciate that I have the option to have bread. It is a little pricey, but honestly a load lasted me about a week, which I think is a good time frame. While I did not enjoy their gluten free pizza, I am really, really excited to try more of their products!

2. Blue Diamond Almond Nut Thins

These are really, really good. I’m actually nibbling on them now with some Sabra olive tapenade hummus (yum). While they’re made of rice flour and almonds mainly, the taste is not overwhelmingly ricey or almondy. They just kind of taste like a cracker. They do have an odd, almost greasy coating, but I’m not worried about it.

3. Van’s Crackers

I had the Say Cheese crackers and they were really good! The box is small and they are bite size, but the box lasted me a while. They’re light and crunchy and a little bit salty, so I probably won’t buy them again too soon since I’m watching my sodium intake, but they ARE very good.

4. Talenti Ice Cream

Ice cream is a serious guilty pleasure. I don’t eat it much, but when I do I destroy it. Talenti makes delicious gluten free flavors, my favorite being Mediterranean Mint Pint and the Sea Salt Caramel pint.

5. Amy’s Organic Gluten Free Mac and Cheese

…again, I know that this may not be the healthiest thing but I was hungry, I didn’t want to cook, I saw it, I bought it, and I ate it. And I loved it. Creamy, cheesy, warm and delicious. Just try not to look at the calories.

6. La Banderita Corn Tortillas.

My boyfriend and I are obsessed with burritos and wraps, so I was really sad when I realized I may not be able to have one again. But wait! Corn tortillas exist! These ones are pretty good…they’re a little…stretchy? Rubbery? But they taste good and I made a veggie wrap for lunch today that was pretty awesome (lettuce, shredded carrot, pepperoncini, cheddar, and gluten free thousand island dressing. Simple yet delicious).

7. Regular things

Eggs, fruits (Envy apples in particular), veggies, most meats (I don’t eat veal, and turkey very rarely), all types of fish especially salmon, chickpeas, black beans, kidney beans, tea, and the works. I try to eat as healthy as possible.

So that’s it for today, I need to stop procrastinating. Our favorite neighbors are coming over for homemade pizza (GF for me, obviously) and Cards Against Humanity night tomorrow, and my apartment is a wreck. Pro tip: Watch Hoarders while you clean. It helps.

P.S. I was able to dwindle my bookshelf! Letting my neighbor look through them tomorrow before I take them to the Salvation Army.

Leave a Reply

