Big Change

Hello everyone! I have news!

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 9.00.59 AM

 

This is what I used to look like.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 8.52.44 AM

 

This is what I look like now!

Yup, I chopped it all off. Two 8 inch braids got sent off for donation. And everyone has been asking me why.

“Your hair was so long and naturally curly and beautiful, why did you cut it off?” I’ve gotten this question, word for word, a couple times. I’d like to explain why I lobbed off my locks.

I wanted a “reset”. Yeah, my hair is naturally curly, but was also frizzy, damaged from heat, uneven, took too long to wash, too over a day to dry, always felt dirty and matted, and took way too long to style. As a result, I stopped taking care of it, straightened it way too much because it was “easier to manage” when it was straight, attempted my own “trims” which only resulted in weird layers and uneven length, and did nothing but pull it up in a crappy bun and let it bring my self esteem down.

So my boyfriend took me to a salon and we both got our hair cut. And I am really happy with the result!

So now I’m going to start taking care of my hair the right way: No heat (Except for my bangs on special occasion, because I do know how to trim bangs and will be doing that regularly). Coconut oil treatments on a regular basis. I’ve been reading about raw hair care, but I’ve got to do a little more research before I can either try it or speak to it.

I’ll be researching and reporting on my journey through holistic hair care and the healing process. I’m very excited about it.

Well, I’ve got a super busy day ahead of me so I better scoot. Be well my friends!

2 thoughts on “Big Change

Leave a Reply

