Sinus Combat!

It’s definitely that time of year…I would have posted something like this earlier but here in NC we finally got winter in January!

But this dry weather is wreaking havoc on my sinuses. It’s been awful. I won’t go into too much detail about my gross sinuses.

I’m not one to reach for pills or chemicals too often (unless it’s something serious), so I went online and found something I could make in my own kitchen, with natural ingredients I already had!

This recipe is from Popsugar. You can find the original here.

IMG_5663

Apple Cider Vinegar Brew

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon honey

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper or to taste

lemon juice

Boil water. Combine water with apple cider vinegar in a small glass. Stir in honey and cayenne and top with lemon juice.

Voila! Now this stuff is a little intense…if you’re not used to the kick of apple cider vinegar and cayenne pepper, proceed with caution. The honey definitely takes the edge off, and honestly, I find it quite delightful albeit just a little bit rough. Keep a spoon or something to stir it with nearby because the pepper that doesn’t dissolve will settle and it’s better to keep everything swirling around.

I’m drinking it right now as I type this and my sinuses are already feeling a lot better. I’m breathing just a bit easier and the inside of my nose doesn’t feel like it’s about to crack!

Thank you, little miracle brew!

 

IMG_5664

 

PS: As always, try to use organic products. I’m going through my last bottle of not-organic vinegar before I buy the kind I prefer. Of course, if you can’t, generic is fine. This shouldn’t be used as medicine if you have an actual sinus infection. Left untreated, sinus infections can lead to much bigger problems. If you think you have a sinus infection, please go to the doctor and try this after you get medicine to ease the symptoms.

Be well, my friends!

Leave a Reply

