Chip Addiction

Two blog posts in one day? What is going on with me?! I had to post again because I like sharing and I did something…kinda cool.

Confession: I love chips. I’d eat bagel chips all day if I could. Pita chips? Yes please. Cape Cod potato chips? 24/7. It’s a terrible, terrible addiction.

So I was craving chips but my boyfriend took my car today so I couldn’t go get any and didn’t have any. But what I did have was carrots that were about to go bad. I vaguely remembered carrot chips being a thing, so I pulled ’em out and got going!

carrot_chips

 

This is a pretty simple recipe. But I have a few things I want to point out, and I’ll do that as I go. Here is what you need:

Carrots (I used four)

Avocado oil (Or any kind of oil EXCEPT olive. You should never cook with olive oil.)

Salt

Preheat oven to 425. Line a baking sheet with parchment (I only had foil but parchment is better). Slice the carrots. Thin is better!

01

02

Place in a bowl, drizzle with oil and salt. Place a bigger bowl on top of that bowl and shake to evenly coat (pictured below to show what I mean)

02

03

Place on the baking sheet, make sure none are overlapping and are spaced well.

04

Bake for about ten minutes or until “crispy”.  Let them cool, and enjoy! Here is where I messed up: I accidentally cut my carrots a little too thick. Looking back, broiling a little after they had been baked could have helped but I already stored the leftovers away.

05

I truly enjoyed these, although they didn’t have the crunch I was craving. The natural sweetness of the carrot was balanced by the salt. The lingering aftertaste was delightful. I would love to make a big batch of these for days I have to go into the office.

06

Please let me know if you try these out! If you do anything different or have other methods, I would love to know!

Leave a Reply

