Yumday! It’s not Tribe…

…but it’s yummy!

I made my own hummus today, with a few tweaks. When I was vegan, hummus was a staple. I had it every day. I haven’t been able to buy it recently because it’s been going up in price as more people discover how awesome it is, and I know store-bought can have some preservatives I don’t want inside me.

So, I made my own, but since I don’t have Tahini and didn’t want to spent like $8 on a jar, I used mustard.

Yes. Mustard. Don’t hate. Appreciate. Especially if you’re allergic to sesame seeds.

Here’s the recipe, my homemade addicts!

Yummus with Mustard

1 can chickpeas

5 teaspoons mustard

4 tablespoons olive oil

3 garlic cloves (or more, if you love garlic. I do)

Lemon juice (I didn’t use it but it’s pretty awesome)

IMG_4518

IMG_4520

IMG_4519

 

Yeah, so, throw it all into a food processor. Two things here: 1) I didn’t picture the olive oil, but you guys are smart people. I’m sure you can imagine¬†olive oil in my fancy red spoons. 2) I don’t have a food processor. So this is a smoothie maker. It works the same it just takes a little extra effort.

IMG_4521

(You can see Justin laying on the floor like a hooligan.)

So, run the food processor/smoothie maker until smooth. And you’re done.

That’s it. Hummus! Hummus for days! Well, this will probably last me two days at the most since I’m an addict.

IMG_4522

IMG_4525

I topped mine with some paprika.

So there it is. A perfect way to wind down a weekend. Yum yum yum.

I hope all of you had a great weekend, and a wonderful upcoming week!

 

Leave a Reply

